WHAT TO KNOW WHEN IT COMES TO BOATING
Please be sure that all boats are in compliance with Dunlap Lake and Illinois DNR rules and regulations. Illinois DNR regulations are available at www.dnr.illinois.gov/recreation/boating/Documents/BoatDigest.pdf.
Property owners are allowed to own and sticker up to 3 multi-person boats and 6 individual watercrafts. Individual watercraft is any non-motor powered watercraft with a capacity of less than 350 pounds designed to accommodate only one person.” This includes one-person kayaks, sailboats, etc. Per Illinois law, ALL watercraft must be registered and titled by the State.
All boats, watercraft, and inflatable crafts on the lake must also have Dunlap Lake Boat stickers to help with notifying owners in case of an accident, a loose boat; safety issues and to make it possible to identify non-residents who use the lake. Boat sticker applications can be found below. Carolyn Green can help if you need the combination to the lock on the boat ramp (as can any of the DLPOA Board members), you will be asked to confirm your address and boat number in order to get the code to the gate lock. Contact Green at 618-791-1398 or at email@example.com.
IMPORTANCE OF SAFETY ON THE LAKE
• Please be sure to have the proper number of life vests/flotation devices in each boat. Per Illinois regulations, all watercraft must have at least one U.S. Coast Guard approved Type I, II, or III personal flotation device (PFD) for each person on board and being towed. All vessels 16 feet or longer (except canoes and kayaks), must have at least one U.S.C.G. approved Type IV (throwable) PFD.
• Running lights per Illinois DNR regulations are required from dusk till full light and a whistle or air horn; and a U.S.C.G. approved fire extinguisher must be on all motor boats at all times.
• No person under 10 years of age may operate a motor boat. Persons at least 10 years of age and less than 12 years of age may operate a motor boat only if they are accompanied and under the direct control of a parent or guardian, or a person at least 18 years of age designated by a parent or guardian. Persons at least 12 years of age and less than 18 years of age may operate a motor boat only if: a) they are accompanied and under the direct control of a parent or guardian, or a person at least 18 years of age designated by a parent or guardian; or b) the boat operator is in possession of a Boating Safety Certificate issued by the Illinois DNR, or a valid certificate issued by another state. Information on boater safety courses and an online course is available at http://www.boat-ed.com/il/.
• Please use common sense and be sure to always be aware of other boaters and swimmers, obstacles
This site was developed and is maintained for the benefit of property owners of the Dunlap Lake Subdivision. The general public is invited to view the site, but announcements, surveys, and other communications within the site are strictly reserved for the members of the Dunlap Lake Property Owners Association and are not an invitation or permission for the public to participate.